Enquiries: 01872 _264441 Contact us
translate this site
 

Bosun's Locker

Holiday Cottage in St Mawes, Cornwall

Sleeps 2
Beach within walking distance
Shops within walking distance
Pub within walking distance
WiFi
Garden
Saturday change over
 
Bosun's Locker is a wonderfully light apartment located just off the seafront in St Mawes and away from traffic noise. It is perfect for a couple looking for accommodation close to the harbour and all amenities in this popular village. The south-west facing terrace is a real sun trap, benefiting from morning to evening sun.

Back to search results Print page Make an enquiry
  1. Gallery
  2. Property details
  3. Map
  4. Street view
  5. Video tour
  6. Location
  7. Reviews
  8. Floor plans
  9. Nearby properties
  10. Prices & Book Now

Verified Up Front Reviews

4.2

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-07-10
Barry from Shepton Mallet stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in July
comfortable apartment well located for all St Mawes attractions.Didnt need the car for a whole weekParking bit of an issue as regards meter but now understood.Nothing would stop us returning to Bosuns Locker for another visit. .
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-06-26
Gerry from Eastbourne stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in June
The accommodation is ideal for two people and has all the comforts of home. The facilities are well designed and provide high quality throughout. We experienced a couple of problems but Paula, the housekeeper, was very helpful in resolving the issues and she is very knowledgable about the local area. The property is very central and generally very quite. The view from the front door across the estuary is exceptional although unfortunately this is not available from the apartment.Parking is a problem although there is a large public car park just off the town square which is about 5 minutes walk from the apartment and costs 6.00 for 24 hours or 30.00 a week. The pay and display machines are difficult to understand and difficult to use but the parking staff are very helpful. In conclusion, I would highly recommend the Bosun's Locker and we found the local people to be very friendly.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2017-04-24
Gordon from Cheddar stayed at Bosun's Locker for 4 nights in April
We had a lovely few days in Bosun's Locker. However it was a little disappointing to find scaffolding outside the main door way to the apartments and also the workmen going past all day meant sitting out on the patio was not very private. Also no mobile phone signal at all unless you go out onto the harbour, Land line was available for local calls, however try as we might we could not find out how to answer incoming calls!!! I do think we should have been made aware of all these things before our stay. Other than that the place is beautiful.
Reply from Bridget & PeterWe are sorry we did not make you aware of these issues before your stay. We have just come back from a week in Bosun?s Locker and did not find the scaffolding on the road an issue ? it is nowhere near the flat. It is obviously a necessity to maintain the properties and we do try to do this with minimum disruption to our guests. The scaffolding is now down and the building looking very smart. The workmen you refer to were working on our neighbour?s garden and we apologise if this was a disturbance. The work is almost completed and is a one-off. Mobile phone signals are very random in the village and some mobiles do work within the apartment. However, the land line can be used for local and national calls (although preferably not to a mobile) and we do have wi-fi. Apologies for being unable to answer incoming calls ? this was a handset battery problem which we resolved last week. We are so pleased you find it beautiful there, and we do hope you will return to Bosun?s Locker and wonderful St Mawes.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-01-05
Mo from St Mawes stayed at Bosun's Locker for 4 nights in December
Bosun's is a gem in St Mawes, ideally placed, very clean and comfortable. We would certainly come here again.
Reply from BridgetThank you so much for your comments and we look forward to you visiting again.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-10-24
Alan from Glasgow stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in October
Small flat but has everything needed for a very pleasant week's stay. Excellent location close to town and harbour, etc.
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-10-14
Tony from Dursley stayed at Bosun's Locker for 3 nights in October
Upon arriving to Bosuns Locker I was so impressed with the apartment, all was very clean and well presented, and for myself and my partener there was more than enough Bedroom/sitting/kitchen and bath room area for us to feel really comfortable. Nice touch was that there was fresh milk in the fridge and tea, coffee, biscuits provided, this certainly was not expected, Every thing is provided for cooking, and dining, drinks ect.. St Mawes is a lovely town with some great restaurants and pub, Definitely will be booking again.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-09-24
Deborah from York stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in August
This is the third time that we have stayed here because it is perfect for us and we are always drawn back to beautiful St Mawes. The accommodation has everything that we need and we appreciate the outdoor patio area for our gin and tonics!
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-08-15
Frances from Macclesfield stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in August
Bosun's Locker is a lovely apartment in the hub of St Mawes. It was well equipped and very comfortable for a couple to stay in. Wished we'd booked for two weeks.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-08-08
Anna from Oxford stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in July
This was our second visit to Bosun's Locker. Although the property is tucked behind the front so has no views, it takes less than a minute to be sat on the wall looking at the sea. The property is clean and well presented and has an excellent range of books for the wet days! The location means that breakfast from Cafe Chandlers is seconds away and we could also have an evening drink in the St Mawes hotel while dinner was cooking. There is the potential for noise if the family upstairs happen to share different hours but we have not found this to be a problem on either of our visits. We will definitely return.
4.2

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-07-18
Alan from Leamington Spa stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in July
I can't fault the accommodation: great location and matched exactly with the description on the web site. The books in the "library" were the best I've ever come across: Jonathan Coe, Pat Barker and Evelyn Waugh to name but three. St Mawes is rather "Kensington-on-Sea" and restaurant prices reflect that but you can't fault the choice available.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-07-11
Jennifer from Salford stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in June
We loved our stay at Bosun's Locker. It was the perfect size for 2 and had everything we needed. We loved the extra little touches sucn as the tea, coffee, biscuits and milk that awaited us on arrival, and the bookshelf full of books to read. I enjoyed the outdoor space on the sunny days, and found it cozy inside when it was rainy. It's set right on the sea front so it's the perfect location for the St Mawes shops, restaurants and the harbour for boat trips to nearby towns. But it's also hidden away in its own little courtyard so that it is peaceful and quiet too. Ideal! The only issue we had with the whole stay was when we first arrived. The instructions advised to park on the main town car park "by the Rising Sun", but the Rising Sun was not on the map provided so we had to hunt down some locals to point us in the right direction. It is also worth advising that the car park is 30 for the week and you need to pay in 1 coins - so make sure you have these ready when you arrive! It was a bit of a hassle for us to get this all sorted.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-06-06
Peter from Derby stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in May
Lovely location, good facilties,couldn't park when we got there which after very long drive was stressful, could have a reserved space on car park happy to pay, would definetly go back
Reply from Bridget & PeterWe're sorry to hear about the parking - this is the first time we've been aware of an issue. Unfortunately we are unable to reserve a space in the car park as reserved spaces are restricted to residents of St Mawes. We do hope you come back again and we're glad you enjoyed Bosun's Locker.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-04-17
Joan from Torquay stayed at Bosun's Locker for 3 nights in April
This was our 3rd time at Bosuns Locker. We arrived in the middle of the worst storm of the year. We cooked for ourselves that evening as everything is to hand in the kitchen and watched the thunder and lightening show from the cosy warm accommodation.The next 2 days we were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the outdoors and the patio of Bosuns Locker which gives you all day sunshine.Lovely accommodation with everything you require.We enjoyed evening meals at the St Mawes hotel a couple of doors away.Yhe staff were welcoming and food lovely with a nice calm atmosphere.Had lunch at Chandlers about 5 doors away and again very welcoming and lovely food.We love St Mawes and this little cosy hideaway.
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-02-17
Peter from Bourton on the Water stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in February
This was a last minute decision to visit Cornwall rather than go abroad. A good one. Bosun's Locker is a small well appointed flat in a great location. No sea view but great access to village and amenities. Bakery on the harbour is a must ( superb pasties) as is the butcher's shop. (Superb steak). St Just church is a must as is the ferry to Falmouth. Friendly pub round the corner. Would definitely come back. Weather got a bit wild but made it more exciting.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-11-06
Allan from West Ewell stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in October
My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Bosun's Locker during the last week of October. Everything about it was perfect, lovely and clean,anything that you probably have at home to prepare a meal was close to hand. Very comfortable bed,very quiet,central location in St Mawes with the waterfront just outside, we arrived on a saturday evening to find that the village had laid on a fireworks display out in the river/sea just for us (obviously not, we were just lucky). Lovely shops and pubs close by, we thoroughly recommend the Victory Inn for a delicious evening meal and a pint, it's a real pub and had a night of Cornish Shanty music on the Friday. The one thing I really enjoyed about the flat was the fantastic selection of books, I read three in a week, I've never managed a single book before in that time. We did some great walks around the town and up to St Justs and St Anthony's. All in all a very relaxing stay.
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2015-10-13
Margaret from Sparkford stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in October
Very comfortable and convenient for the harbour and all that St Mawes has to offer. Quiet position. Everything provided for our holiday needs. Would definitely recommend this for a couple.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-09-07
Guest from London stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in August
Bosun's Locker provided the perfect base to explore the beautiful Roseland peninsula. The flat is well-equipped with full cooking facilities, a bath and shower, TV with DVD, very comfy bed as well as a wide range of novels and some board games for those evenings in. The small private patio was a real sun trap away from the bustle of the harbour. My partner and I had a wonderful stay and highly recommend Bosuns Locker to any couple who want a quiet retreat in St Mawes.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-08-24
Liz from Sale stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in August
A small and perfectly formed cottage in beautiful St Mawes. A great location with lovely walks straight from the doorstep and lots of places to eat a drink.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2015-07-27
Pip from Berrow stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in July
Our second holiday in Bosuns Locker which says everything! Superb location, and nothing in the cottage was overlooked. The milk, tea/coffee and biscuits provided are a lovely touch and the cottage is beautifully presented.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2015-06-17
Guest from Leominster stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in June
We love this accommodation, great location, very private and quiet patio area to enjoy but 2 minutes from sea, beach, shops etc.Really well equipped and ideal for 2 people. Great local bakery on quayside and lots of places to eat in St Mawes. Great location for dumping the car for the week and walking, catching ferries and local transport to explore the Roseland.
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-06-13
Guest from Salisbury stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in May
Excellent position next to a cash machine and just along from the Coop convenience store. Small but very well eqipped hide-away for two people. Pretty courtyard garden.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-06-01
Guest from Kenilworth stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in May
The property and its location were all we hoped they would be and our dealings with the Agents and the Owner were both professional and friendly. Great!
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-05-18
Guest from Emsworth stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in May
What we love most about Boson's Locker is it's location. You walk out of the front door to the sea and just across the road to the harbour and the ferries. We made the most of this by buying a 6 day Mussel card for the ferries which meant unlimited travel on them (and buses and train) We explored St Anthony's Head, Falmouth, Flushing, Mylor, Truro, Trellisic and St Just without using the car once. There is plenty of choice for places to eat and a small co op for basics as well as a bakery. Bosun's Locker is ideal for 2 people. Had really good week.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-05-04
Marvin from Godalming stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in April
So relaxing had every thing right on your door step the views out stanging lots off places to eat a great fish and chip take away look straight out onto the harbor
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-04-13
Guest from Watford stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in April
We arrived on the Saturday and had no problems sorting out the key. We were pleasantly surprised upon entry to find a tray of tea, coffee and biscuits left out to greet us as well as fresh milk in the fridge. It really was a lovely cottage. Extremely well equipped and I think the owners undersell how well equipped the kitchen especially is. It was the small details that really impressed us. Whilst you cannot see the see, it is only a few metres to the quay, shops up the road, numerous pubs and eateries in the village. Parking was quite easy throughout the stay and visitors can purchase week long tickets at the car park. Overall St Mawes is an idyllic village which manages to retain the character of a place of residence and work as well as being a welcoming haven for visitors. Would I recommend St Mawes to visitors? without a doubt yes!! Would I recommend Bosun's Locker to visitors? Without a doubt yes.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-03-29
Guest from Torquay stayed at Bosun's Locker for 4 nights in March
We stayed here same week last year.Bosuns locker is ideal for us.Lovely and quiet and with everything we need.The apartment is very cosy and we had a lovely lazy time.We find the locals really friendly and St Mawes very quaint.I could have stayed longer.Will return.
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-10-20
Guest from Moreton In Marsh stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in October
Lovely flat, very well equipped in all areas. Would happily recommend. Can't really mark the service during our stay as none was required. Tea, coffee, milk and biscuits on arrival are a nice touch
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-08-11
Guest from Berrow, Malvern stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in August
Bosun's Locker suited both my husband and I perfectly: well equipped, well presented and with great attention to detail. It is ideally located, only 2 minutes to the quay and the heart of St. Mawes which is a wonderful holiday destination. The flat provided us with the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding area and we didn't need to use the car all week thanks to the Fal Mussel Card! Cornwalls Cottages are a very efficient company to deal with and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them....in fact I already have to friends and family!
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2014-07-14
Guest from Leominster stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in July
Great location tucked away from the seafront. Great outside area that is sheltered and gets the sun late on. Well equipped,well laid out for two people.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-06-09
Victoria from London stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in May
We had a wonderful time at Bosun's Locker- a lovely little flat with everything we needed, the perfect size for two. We'd love to come back! The only reason I gave a 4 for cleanliness is that I think the fridge/freezer needed a thorough going over, but it was still much cleaner than my own!
Reply from Bridget & Peter RumleySo glad you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed Bosun's Locker - we do too! The fridge/freezer will be replaced very soon as we realise it's due for an upgrade - it's probably a bit more tired than unclean. Hope you come back again and admire its replacement!
4.2

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-04-10
Guest from Torquay stayed at Bosun's Locker for 4 nights in March
We enjoyed our stay. The property was cosy and well equipped. We assume that the passageway through from the road had been affected previously by flooding of some sort, hence what we took to be temporary floor covering. Otherwise no complaints whatsoever and we would definitely return for another stay, especially now that the road has been resurfaced. Not sure why you insist I review service and staff unless you are referring to the booking process. Otherwise we encountered no staff to review and served ourselves !
Reply from Bridget & Peter RumleyWe are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bosun's Locker. The communal passageway took a bit of battering from the winter storms but thankfully no damage to the actual flat as we are tucked away. Together with our neighbours we are having a working party over the Easter weekend to smarten up the passageway, so do come back another time and admire our work! We agree with you about the Service & Staff section!
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2013-11-04
Guest from Kidderminster stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in October
We booked only 2 days before travelling and Cornwalls Cottages managed to get all relevant info to us and some excellent recommendations. What a great choice we made and value for money. The accomodation was extremelly clean and well presented with all anyone could need from a self catering holiday in a beautiful, traditional Cornish village.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2013-10-22
Guest from Sainte Croix Volvestre stayed at Bosun's Locker for 4 nights in October
On arrival, we were both completely stunned on entering Bosun's Locker. It was well arranged, very cosy and extremely well equipped. In fact, it was far superior to anything we expected... and far superior to any other self-catering accomodation that we have previously experienced. We had a lovely time in St. Mawes and its surroundings - enjoying pleasant weather and excellent food and wonderful walks by the sea. However, at the end of each day, we were really happy to get back to our "little home". The only - very minor - criticism was that there was no radio. We also rather wished the bakers 2 doors down made a little less noise between 5.30 and 6.30 am! Sorry about the kettle. It was my fault. My wif's comment was (paraphasing Captain Mainwaring) "STUPID BOY"!
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2013-09-11
Guest from Leominster stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in July
Great location, tucked away from the front, but so convenient to collect fresh bread from the bakery of a morning and to have an early morning dip in the sea. A real sun trap and nice relaxing terrace with large interesting plants. Really well equipped including phone which was great to use to ring elderly mother! Very clean,comfortable and airy. Loved our stay so much have already booked again for next summer.
2.8

out of 5
Cleanliness 3
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 3
Condition 3
Location 2
Value For Money 2
Review Date: 2013-09-10
Guest from Bath stayed at Bosun's Locker for 7 nights in July
No complaints with the quality of accommodation but were constantly being woken in the early hours by the adjacent bakery staff-hardly condusive to a relaxing break!
Reply from Bridget & Peter RumleyWe are so sorry you feel you were disturbed by the local bakery. The apartment is located in the centre of the village (although away from any road noise) but is not in the middle of nowhere so it is inevitable there is some "noise" although we consider it to be all part of the colour of the village. It was unfortunate you were woken in the early hours - we stay there as often as we can and this has not been a problem for us. More than compensated for by the excellent bread - see other reviews!
Powered by Up Front Reviews

Customer testimonials

Really enjoyable holiday, helped by the fantastic weather. Really enjoyed staying in Bosun's Locker. It had everything we needed and fantastic location. St Mawes has been great. Good places to eat and the coast line is amazing! We hope to come back soon.
Fiona & Matthew, Herts, Sep 2014
Had a most enjoyable holiday in St Mawes, and Bosun's Locker is spot on.
Nick & Frances, Sussex, Sep 2014
Had a lovely week at Bosun's Locker. St Mawes is beautiful and Falmouth is a great town - especially when the Tall Ships Regatta is on! Loved getting the ferry to Falmouth - very convenient and quick! Thank you.
Matt & Rachel, Birmingham, Aug 2014
We came here last year and loved it so much that we came back and got married in Falmouth...A happy time! Really at home in Bosun's Locker and already planning our return, even as we leave. We just love it!
Deborah & Mike, York, Aug 2014
What a super place. Everything you would want and need and so close to the seafront that we often took drinks out to the water's edge. Lovely, nice people, nice weather, nice accommodation. It doesn't get any better than this! We will be back.
Paul & Pip, Malvern, Aug 2014
Really enjoyed our stay here. Cycling (hired bikes at Bissoe) was great and also enjoyed paddleboarding and the usual walks - to Portscatho and also St Just. Lucky with the weather so hardly ate out - salads sitting outside were the order of the day.
Anna & John, Jul 2014
Lovely accommodation. A perfect setting. Wonderful place to live.
Moira & Brigid, Jul 2014
Great Locker. Great location. Thanks for another great stay in St Mawes.
Lyn & Paul, Jul 2014
We love St Mawes and great location for exploring the area. Very comfortable stay with everything we needed considered and appreciated - we had a great holiday.
Dave & Joyce, Jun 2014
Bosun’s Locker is a lovely flat and so well equipped – especially the milk tea and sugar on arrival - a lovely touch after a long drive. Our first visit to St Mawes which we think is a gorgeous place.
Carole & Tony, Jun 2014
We had an absolutely wonderful time at Bosun's Locker. It was brilliantly appointed and had everything we needed. Just sad I don't get to wake up there tomorrow!
V & W Davies, May 2014
Bosun’s Locker - fantastic location and facilities. Perfect for our first family holiday.
Amy, James & baby Benjamin, May 2014
Superb base. St Mawes is lovely.
Liz & Trev, May 2014
Have had a lovely few days and the weather was kind to us. Bosun’s Locker is very cosy and comfortable and like other people have commented, love the homely touches.
Chrissy & Lee, Apr 2014
A lovely relaxing few days. Bosun’s Locker very comfortable and cosy.
Rob & Joan, Mar 2014
Great place to explore from. Bosun’s Locker is cosy and well equipped with welcoming touches. Relaxing and peaceful this time of year.
Andy & Tracy, Oct 2013
We love Bosun’s Locker. Clean comfortable, all one could need. St Mawes lovely. St Just magical. All in all a lovely week. Thank you. We’ll be back.
The Cliffords, Sep 2013
Would like to say that we had a very nice week staying in Bosun's Locker. Wonderful, comfortable accommodation. There was everything that you could possibly need and it was very well cared for and very clean. Great place for exploring area. Made good use of ferries. St Mawes is truly a gem! If we come to Cornwall again we will be in touch.
The Royces, Aug 2013
Had a wonderful week – weather was kind to us. Loved Bosun’s Locker and as other visitors have commented we also really appreciated the extra touches that made our stay so comfortable. Thank you! We loved St Mawes, are very relaxed and don’t want to go home!!
Damienne & Steve, Leics, Aug 2013
We had a lovely week, the weather was amazing. Bosun's Locker is really lovely, well equipped and comfy and very quiet considering how close it is to the front at St Mawes. We would hope to return to it next year. Thanks for your help with booking and for providing us with a great holiday location.
L Yendell, Jul 2013
The second year running we've stayed in St Mawes and once again we have been more than satisfied with both the cottage we've stayed in and the service provided by Cornwalls Cottages! We could not fault Bosun's Locker, the decor and facilities were of such a high standard. Great to find a holiday home with all the necessities and more provided! Definitely worth a repeat booking!!
J Villiers , May 2013
We had a lovely holiday and comfortable stay at Bosun's Locker. We slept well, thought the kitchen well equipped and found that everything worked well. And I would say that the photos online do not show just how comfortable the apartment is.
A Rawson, Oct 2012
Have had a great week. St Mawes is perfect for peace and quiet but also a great base to explore more of Cornwall. Thank you for all the extra touches at Bosun's Locker - very much appreciated and added to the enjoyment of the week - would love to come again - thank you.
D & R, W Yorks, Aug 2012
Had a great week. Love St Mawes and Bosun's Locker - looking forward to coming again!
K & D Spencer, Aug 2012
Have had a lovely week. Bosun's Locker home from home, everything you could need. Great location. Wish the weather had been as good. Thank you.
Lorraine & Tony, Berkshire, Jul 2012
A good week, good weather, good sailing. Bosun's Locker is lovely - well equipped and comfy. Look forward to coming back.
A & W Walkley, Jun 2012
Had a great week here. Accommodation perfect as was the whole area of the Roseland. Hope to come again.
B & C Daws, May 2012
Great week. Our own cosy bolt hole and the rest of the family 2 minutes walk away! Love it here. Hope to return. Very well equipped. Good way to spend half term!
T & V Sharp, Oct 2011
A splendid flat in a splendid location. Someone has thought of everything to make the flat perfect. Well done! We will return!
Martin & Janice , Sep 2011
Bosun's Locker comfortable and well situated. Everything required is here - thanks! A really fabulous area to visit!
Sarah & Steve , Aug 2011
Excellent accommodation. Recommend the The Victory with brilliant food and atmosphere. Enjoyed exploring the whole area.
Helen and Andrew, Jul 2011
Bosun's Locker just gets better, this is our 7th year here, always wonderful to be back in St Mawes. PS the broadband is a wonderful addition. We will be back.
Nick & Christie, May 2011
Excellent accommodation and location. We shall certainly return here and explore further.
D & B Fairnington, Apr 2011
Love coming back to St Mawes and we thought Bosun's Locker was perfect for the two of us. Sun is shining today and we have to go home.
Lou & Andy, Apr 2011
Great place to stay! So central & lovely accommodation. Love St Mawes!
L & K Bowen, Oct 2010

Bosun's Locker is tucked away behind the seafront, but within a minute's walk of the harbour. Although only a stone's throw from the heart of the village, no traffic noise can be heard from the property or from the terrace. St Mawes is a magical place to visit and a renowned sailing centre whose sheltered location gives it a climate to enjoy all year round. It is a great place to enjoy local food at the many award winning pubs & hotels around the Roseland Peninsula as well as the panoramic views of the Carrick Roads from the stunning walks that can be taken from the village.

The apartment is accessed through a shared entrance hall and up ten internal steps. This wonderfully light apartment is comfortably furnished and has a pretty, south-west facing terrace to the front, benefiting from morning to evening sun. It is a fabulous place for a couple to stay.

Accommodation
Ground Floor: Open plan kitchen, dining area and sitting room. Bedroom with double bed (4'6") and separate bathroom with shower over bath.
Exterior: South-west facing terrace benefiting from morning to evening sun with external furniture and sun umbrella.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage heaters and an electric heater. The kitchen is fully fitted with a range of units. There is an electric oven & hob, a microwave, fridge / freezer and washer / dryer. There is a TV (the 19" shown in the photographs has been replaced by a 26") with a digital recorder and separate DVD/CD player in the sitting room. WiFi is available at the property. There is an iron and ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen & towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. Parking is available on the sea front in the evenings and all day out of season. During the season, parking is available on the quay or alternatively in the main car park which is a short walk away. We regret that dogs are not permitted and no smoking is allowed.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Saturday.
Shortbreaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.



St Mawes is one of the finest waterside villages in Cornwall. Situated overlooking an idyllic bay on the eastern side of the famous Falmouth Estuary, St Mawes has one of the mildest climates in Britain due to its proximity to the Gulf Stream. The sea is at the heart of the village and has helped to shape St Mawes from the little fishing village to the fashionable holiday destination that is so popular with visitors. A mecca for boating enthusiasts, St Mawes is a particularly popular sailing centre. Weekly club racing, village regattas and larger events are commonplace on the superb waters of the bay all through the summer.

St Mawes has so much to offer the visitor. St Mawes Castle was built by Henry VIII and is a splendid place to take in the views of the Carrick Roads. There are miles of coastal and countryside walks to take in and some idyllic beaches on which to relax and watch the world go by. The little Place Ferry takes visitors to explore St Anthony's Head or there are regular ferries to Falmouth. Being situated on the seafront, the village is also known for the restaurants and pubs that serve superb fish and shellfish dishes all year round. There is a selection of pubs & hotels with restaurants (including the renowned Hotel Tresanton and The Idle Rocks) all within easy walking distance. There is a range of shops all within a few minutes’ walk including a Cooperative store, Post Office, chemist, butcher, baker, delicatessens, art and clothes shops. The village also has a doctor’s surgery and a dentist’s surgery.
You might be interested in these nearby properties

Cobblers Cottage

Sleeps up to 4
Location: St Mawes
A simply irresistible character cottage, literally a stone's throw from St Mawes Harbour, so perfectly positioned for exploring this wonderful village. It is only some 50 yards to the Quay from which ferries leave for Falmouth, Truro and Place. Well behaved small dogs are welcome and there is a secure patio area.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distanceGarden
Property code: 8415


More info Book now

Cobblestones

Sleeps up to 6
Location: St Mawes
Perfectly located in a peaceful little courtyard leading just off from the seafront in the centre of St Mawes, Cobblestones is a beautifully restored, wonderfully higgledy-piggledy, intimate cottage. Whether it is for a family holiday or a romantic escape for two, Cobblestones really could not be bettered.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distance
Property code: 51747


More info Book now

Number Eleven

Sleeps up to 6
Location: St Mawes
Right in the heart of St Mawes with the most fabulous views over the harbour and St Anthony’s headland from balcony, dining room, and both sitting rooms, Number Eleven’s position really could not be bettered. Add to this the spacious, luxurious interior and the choice is made!

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distance
Property code: 51974


More info Book now

Spinnakers

Sleeps up to 4
Location: St Mawes
Spinnakers is an immaculately presented & very well equipped apartment which is quietly situated overlooking a small courtyard just off the sea front of St Mawes near the quay. It is very conveniently situated for all the local amenities, car parking and beach.

WiFiBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 59321


More info Book now

Rosslyn Cottage

Sleeps up to 5
Location: St Mawes
Completely refurbished and updated over the winter of 2016/7, Rosslyn is a charming period cottage with private gardens front and back, quietly located in the old centre of St Mawes up steps behind the Victory Inn and the quayside. Overlooking the village towards Summers Beach it is a comfortable modernised house, still full of old-world character and in an absolutely ideal central spot in St Mawes.

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 4657


More info Book now

The Watch House

Sleeps up to 6
Location: St Mawes
The Watch House is an immaculately presented 3 bedroom luxury apartment set in the heart of the picturesque village of St Mawes with views of the Harbour and bay from every room. The apartment has been designed and refurbished in a contemporary style and includes a stunning lounge and dining area with open plan fully fitted kitchen. The living space has 2 large windows with uninterrupted views and is a wonderful place to relax and let the world pass you by!

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceSaturday change over
Property code: 9187


More info Book now

Corner Cottage

Sleeps up to 5
Location: St Mawes
Corner Cottage is situated in a quiet location up a short, steep hill a few minutes from the harbour, just behind the centre of St Mawes next to a small Catholic Church (no bells!). The cottage enjoys pretty views over the roof tops to the Percuil River and the National Trust land behind and is a delightful & welcoming place to stay.
Dogs are welcome & there are TWO PARKING SPACES.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyWiFiSea viewsNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distanceGarden
Property code: 11817


More info Book now

The Workshop

Sleeps up to 5
Location: St Mawes
Tucked away on a quiet lane only a few steps from the harbour in St Mawes, this conversion is a delightfully presented family holiday home, with views out across the bay from the lounge. It is an ideal holiday cottage in the heart of St Mawes for either couples or a family with 3 bedrooms.

Dog FriendlyWiFiSea viewsNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSunday change over
Property code: 13925


More info Book now

Pirate Cottage

Sleeps up to 8
Location: St Mawes
This 19th century village house is located on a quiet terrace in the centre of St Mawes, literally a few steps from the harbour with lovely sea views over the harbour and the bay. It has been completely refurbished to a very high standard. There is a private patio deck to the rear which is a real sun trap. Pirate Cottage is a quite superb house which could not be more centrally located in the village.

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceOpen fire / woodburnerCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSunday change over
Property code: 14071


More info Book now

Chapel Cottage

Sleeps up to 4
Location: St Mawes
With dramatic views of the bay and across the water to St Anthony headland, from both the master bedroom and the living room, Chapel Cottage offers a great vantage point to watch all the waterborne activities in St Mawes. Only moments from the harbour area, this is a very popular position to stay in St Mawes.

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceOpen fire / woodburnerShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSunday change over
Property code: 40209


More info Book now