Enquiries: 01872 _264441 Contact us
translate this site
 

Den's Den

Holiday Apartment in St Mawes, Cornwall

Sleeps 4
Sea views
Beach within walking distance
Shops within walking distance
Pub within walking distance
Dog Friendly
WiFi
No. of pets allowed
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Saturday change over
 
A lovely apartment overlooking the harbour in St Mawes. Perfectly located in the beautiful village of St Mawes, with beaches, pubs & shops all within walking distance. Ideal for those wanting great waterside accommodation for a couple or group of friends in the heart of St Mawes. The property comes with a fantastic shared roof garden with the most amazing views over the harbour & bay. The apartment also comes with its own parking space and has easy access for all
Back to search results Print page Make an enquiry
  1. Gallery
  2. Property details
  3. Map
  4. Street view
  5. Video tour
  6. Location
  7. Reviews
  8. Floor plans
  9. Nearby properties
  10. Prices & Book Now

Verified Up Front Reviews

4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2017-07-18
David from Holmes Chapel stayed at Den's Den for 14 nights in July
The flat was light and sunny with all you would need for your stay supplied for you. With big front windows and a rooftop area to sit and watch the world go by. A fantastic assortment of curios to be found and books to read we were never short of something to occupy yourself. A great location for boat trips and meals out with a well stocked co-op near at hand. A great place to stay but you must not mind the smell of fish and chips being cooked for most of the day.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you very much for your nice review, we are really pleased you enjoyed the flat and the views from the front room and the roof terrace. It is handy having many restaurants and pubs selling delicious fish and chips on your doorstep, but as you point out, there is a downside too. We hope you may come back and stay with us again in the future.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-05-29
Joanna from Cheltenham stayed at Den's Den for 3 nights in May
What a wonderful apartment Den's den is ! Beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and with a wonderful view of the estuary through the lounge window. We enjoyed spending time on the roof terrace and were so pleased to enjoy a decent shower and comfy beds !!
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for your 'heavenly' review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Den's Den and hope to see you again in the near future.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-04-17
Alicia from Stamford stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in April
We really enjoyed our stay at Den's Den. It is centrally located, perfect for watching the world go by! The roof terrace is wonderful for views of St Mawes. The flat itself is very well equipped and beautifully furnished with lots of interesting pieces of art. We received a welcome card, what's on at the local cinema, bottle of wine and a pint of milk - nice touch! We felt very at home there. What's not to like!
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for your fab review! It's especially nice to read that you liked Dad's artworks. We hope very much that you may come and stay at Den's Den again sometime in the near future.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-04-10
Nicky from Sandbach stayed at Den's Den for 5 nights in April
Perfect location, great modern qwircky property! Lovely personal family touch, would recommend! Looking forward to staying again
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for your wonderful review. We really do hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2017-03-13
Sue from Bristol stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in March
We had everything we needed in the apartment and it was warm and comfortable. The location was excellent and the car parking space very useful.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you for reviewing Den's Den. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2017-01-05
Sarah from Calvia stayed at Den's Den for 5 nights in December
We had a fantastic holiday at Den's Den. We loved the location overlooking the Idle Rocks, Rising Sun and sea, a great people watching spot! The flat was warm and cosy and had everything we needed, plus extras like wine and milk, a lovely touch. Would definitely stay there again.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for this lovely review. It's always heartening to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay. Look forward to, perhaps, having you stay again soon!
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-12-23
Pauline from Brentwood stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in December
Look forward to our next visit - our visits are now into double figures - plenty to do and the location means we do not have to climb the "big hill" each time we go to St Mawes Hotel, Tresanton or the shops
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward very much to seeing you again in the future.
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-10-10
Katie from Bridport stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in October
Three of us and our two Border terriers stayed at Den's Den for a week. We found it clean , warm and quirky. It was well equipped and ideally situated in St Mawes. The car parking space was an added bonus as parking can be difficult. Ideal for dogs with walks in all directions. The roof garden is an added resource that could do with a bit of improvement as the view is lovely but we suspect this is more complex for a shared space. We will use Den's Den again:-)
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you very much for your wonderful review of Den's Den. We are delighted you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-09-21
Lyn from Bridport stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in September
Den's Den is a quirky, comfy, clean, convenient, much loved flat in a perfect situation. It was like walking into a friends house, and feeling immediately at home. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. It is a perfect situation, in a beautiful coastal village and we will certainly go back.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for this wonderful review. It's so gratifying when a guest has a great time at Den's Den. It really made our day to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward very much to your return visit.
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-09-12
Lisa from Bexhill-on-Sea stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in September
Very comfortable and well equipped. Perfect location in the delightful setting of St. Mawes. The roof terrace was a nice place to have a coffee and watch the world go by. The apartment is centrally located to all amenities in the village with a lovely view of the harbour and beyond to Place Estate in St. Anthony. It also has the added bonus of its own parking space in the car park about 100 yards away. And these are like gold dust in this setting. We hardly used the car preferring to go by sea to various locations surrounding the area. My only issues would be the very noisy hot water pump. It does rather limit using any hot water if others are in bed as this would soon wake them. And the sensor night light outside the front door (we did look for an off switch but could not locate one) illuminates the twin bedroom to almost daylight proportions even with the roller blind down. But these points are minor issues and would certainly not deter me from returning. I have already booked for another visit next year. I would definitely recommend this property to others too.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you very much for your review of Den's Den. I have had the pump looked at and it is far less noisy now. We will have to install some black-out curtains, as the outdoor passageway lights are controlled for the whole block of flats. I'm pleased you enjoyed the roof terrace and St Mawes and the Fal estuary in general, and look forward to your return visit next year.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-08-29
Mary Jane from Rugby stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in August
We loved St Mawes, it was heaven, Den's Den was a fantastic flat, right in the middle of things, comfortable and well planned. I would recommend it. Lots of good pubs and restaurants very handy and the sea was just amazing, the children spent all week sailing from beach to beach in their dingy!
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for your enthusiastic review of Den's Den. It makes all the behind the scenes work well worth it to read a review like this. We look forward very much to perhaps seeing you again sometime in the future.
3.2

out of 5
Cleanliness 3
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 3
Condition 3
Location 3
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2016-08-22
Guest from Doncaster stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in August
Roof terrace up two flights of stairs. Security lock on door broken. Terrace furniture ready for tip, so not the relaxing place it could be. Toaster broke and new one replaced that day. Wardrobe doors very difficult to slide open. Disappointing holiday home.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you for submitting a review of your holiday at Den's Den. I'm sad to read that you were unhappy with your stay. In reply to the complaints you made, the roof terrace is a lovely spot on a sunny day and is, as you say, upstairs. There is a table and chairs for clients of Den's Den to use in the cupboard next to the roof terrace entrance, I'm sorry you did not find this, it is almost brand new, so certainly not ready for the tip just yet. I have contacted the management company regarding the security lock for the communal door to the roof terrace to see if there is a problem with it, it is their responsibility and will be fixed a.s.a.p. The broken toaster was replaced immediately by Donna, who made a special effort to get a new one for you and told us you were very pleased to receive such prompt attention. The wardrobe doors are on runners, so perhaps they had become dislodged, for which I apologise. As you will see from the reviews, others have found Den's Den far from a "disappointing holiday home". We are very proud of it and try to make it a comfortable spot for a relaxing stay in St Mawes.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-07-20
Graham from Warrington stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in July
This is the second time we have stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed it again, We did notice at Dens Den a dog bowl on the floor,we did not know when booking for this year that it was dog friendly. We normally prefer a no dog policy place to stay. Your comments on this would be much appreciated.
Reply from Cornwalls CottagesWe are very pleased that you had another lovely stay at Den?s Den. The property has always been advertised on our website as being dog friendly and we are so sorry that you were not aware of this.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-06-13
Mark from Gloucester stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in June
I didn't think the photo of the outside of apartment necessarily does it justice, it is so much better in real life. it really is the most fantastic holiday place and location could not have been better with the bonus especially of parking space. Nice and quiet at night no noise around apartment from above. The kitchen was so well equipped and just a really comfortable stay with the best quality of bathroom, shower etc. We could not ask for any better of a place to stay on holiday.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for giving such a wonderful review of Den's Den. We are really pleased that enjoyed the apartment and hope you may come back and stay again sometime in the future.
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 2
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-05-16
Howard from Cheltenham stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in May
Cleanliness rated at only good because a very dirty hand towel left hanging on the back of the toilet door, otherwise very good Customer service rated as very poor, nobody available in the office on the last Saturday, which is a change over day when problems arise. Nobody answered the emergency mobile number given in the recorded message when ringing the office on Saturday. I let the number ring some time and was unable to leave a message. No answer from the owners number, eventually managed to get hold of the cleaner to tell her I had forgotten to take the parking permit out of my car and return it to the appartment. Posted this back to the cleaner's address Sunday morning. I have used this beautiful appartment every year for the past 3 years and will use it again if it is still available next year. It is very convenient for the shops and has a free parking permit with an allocated space plus wi fi (which is a must these days). The views of the harbour and St Mawes from the roof where you can sit and enjoy a drink is outstanding. Pity the mobile phone signal is non exsistent and the phone box is out of order but this is not the fault of the owner.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay at Den's Den. We are very pleased that you think the apartment is beautiful and have enjoyed it so much that you have been happy to return over the last 3 years. May I apologise for the dirty hand towel you found in the bathroom this time and the problem you had returning the parking permit. We do hold spare permits, just for this eventuality. Once again, thank you for your repeated visits and we hope to see you again in the future.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-05-10
Russell from Stevenage stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in April
Fantastic location with great views. Ideal for a relaxing break with lots of interesting places to visit with or without the need of your own transport.
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for giving such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Den's Den and hope you can come back and stay again soon.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-05-09
Karen from Farnham, Surrey stayed at Den's Den for 5 nights in April
we enjoyed our stay at Dens place very comfortable and clean. lots of art work that was Dens and other artist. beautiful views of the sea from the lounge. we took the ferry to falmouth from the pier lovely place to visit just 20 minutes away. the flat had everyting you would need for a good holiday
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you so much for giving such a nice review of Den's Den. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and how much you appreciated Dad's artwork and the other pieces he chose for the flat. We look forward to perhaps seeing you again in the not too distant future.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-04-04
John from Sheffield stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in March
This is a great apartment, we loved it. Upon our arrival there was a lovely welcome card from the owner together with milk and a bottle of wine. The interior is is fabulous with interesting books, pictures, photos and jazzy furniture. It has a great view of the sea and is a wonderful place to sit and watch the world go by. It has its own parking space located close by and is very well equipped. A big bonus is that the Wi-if works really well too, very useful on a rainy day. We are due to stay there again later this year...can't wait!
Reply from Gavin RichardsThank you for taking the time to give such a wonderful review of Den's Den. We look forward very much to having you return later this year.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-03-14
Rod from Poole stayed at Den's Den for 5 nights in February
We really enjoyed our stay here, and would hope to return. Dennis dropped around to see that everything was OK, which was a pleasant surprise. We loved the apartment, great views and close to everything St Mawes has to offer.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-02-15
David from Macclesfield stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in February
We normally come to St Mawes in the summer with the family but were in need of a short winter break away form it all. St Mawes is not exactly away from it all but it ticks a lot of boxes and there is no phone reception and in February it is quite quiet yet places are open. We loved Den's Den particularly because of its central location - yards from shops, restaurants and pubs and its snug comfort and decor. The weather was awful but we still had a great holiday.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-10-06
Graeme from London stayed at Den's Den for 14 nights in September
Excellent location, the apartment is in first class condition and really is a home from home. Would have no hesitation in recommending Den's Den to anyone.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-09-27
Mary from Swindon stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in September
Loverly central location this flat in center of St Mawes, quiet beautiful view from front windows of the sea .Good place to get around if you dont have a car as the ferry service over to Falmouth, Place and up to Truro you dont need a car or you can get about on local bus .If you wont a location with lots of walking, sight seeing then this is the flat just like being home from home .
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 3
Review Date: 2015-07-27
Charlotte from Twyford stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in July
We had a lovely time in St Mawes at Den's Den. It was pricey but due to peak time in the summer. Very querky decor but comfortable and great location!
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-07-13
Guest from Warrington stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in July
Den's Den is in a fantastic location 30 seconds from the harbour sea front and minute from the parking space, the apartment is fully equipped with everything you may need and exceptionally clean. I would go again.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-06-15
Guest from Lutterworth stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in May
Hoping to come again - maybe later this year. St Mawes is a fantastic place offering all that myself wife and family (three generations) require for a holiday.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-06-07
Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in May
Den's Den is centrally located in St.Mawes and particularly suited for people with mobility issues. Every thing is close at hand. View from main living room includes harbour and entrance to marina, People watching over triangle is source of interest. Posh nosh, pub grub, and takeaway meals are close at hand including a deli that makes up salad Bose for packed lunches. The Roseland Pub has excellent food and home made ale (Cornish Shag) very hoppy and very morish. Den called to check if all was good and repaired an unstable chair leg. He plans to replace that chair so should not be an issue for next occupants. Rooms are very spacious and beds very comfortable. Not sure that stuffed birds in a glass case will be to every bodies taste but this is a minor point as all his other art work is charming. I think that in high season outside noise may be an issue for sensitive ears but not an issue for us as back bedroom is much quieter. Lots of storage space. As you would expect from a property lived in by the owner nothing required has been missed out. The welcome bottle of wine and basic provisions reminded us of Greek holidays with Sunvil. Unfortunately we didn't have Greek weather! In conclusion we would love to go back in September! Thank you Den for the use of your den. Janet and Ken Damsell
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-04-20
Guest from London stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in April
Our second time here, pleased to say still in first class condition and very comfortable. It really is a home from home. Excellent location....we enjoy it so much our next holiday has already been booked.
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2015-02-06
Guest from Petersfield stayed at Den's Den for 5 nights in January
Comfortable and warm Kitchen a little sparse eg suggest oven proof casserole and a serving dish or two
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-12-29
Guest from Brentwood stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in December
Very comfortable accommodation and spotlessly clean - like the open plan design and good to have dishwasher and washing machine - good location and nice that it is pet friendly - would certainly recommend to others
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-10-09
Guest from Henlow stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in September
No problems at all from beginning to end. There was everything you could possibly want available at Den's Den, the location was ideal and very central for all the facilities. Wouldn't hesitate to visit again or recommend it to friends and familyl
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-10-06
Graeme from London stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in September
Great accommodation, very homely. Lovely to arrive to a welcome bottle of wine with glasses at the ready! Good size accommodation, very comfortable, great powerful shower and first class location. So good, already booked our next holiday at this place.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-09-08
Elizabeth from London stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in August
I stayed at Den's Den for a week whilst working in St Mawes over the summer. The location was ideal- central but still nice and quiet. The apartment was beautifully done up and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a stylishly appointed and convenient place to stay whilst visiting sunny St Mawes!
3.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-09-02
Guest from Surrey stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in August
On the whole very comfortable. Rather an overpowering smell of deep frying early in the evening which permeated the property but luckily quickly dispelled once the frying had stopped. We did not receive any service during our stay so this question is irrelevant.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-08-12
Guest from Lutterworth stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in August
Without help from our family staying nearby the car park was almost impossible to access. Both my wife and myself are 78 with my wife having a mobility problem which entails using a disability badge. Fortunately there were disabled spaces requiring a fee or 4.50 a day close to the apartment. These were used when our family was unavailable to help. You may be interested to know that although the apartment is situated on the first floor of Beach House in St Mawes it is accessed at ground level from the rear of the property. This proved to be of great help. The apartment is situated in a fantastic location - we certainly would go again (health permitting)
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-08-06
Guest from Llanelli stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in July
Excellent accommodation, great view, nice personal touches e.g the bottle of wine and flowers. Would definitely consider renting den's den if I ever visited Cornwall again.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-08-04
Guest from Crawley stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in July
extremely pleased with our stay. Lovely place, great views and fantastic facilities. Parking allocated is a great bonus. owner left us a bunch of flowers, milk and cereals which was a great touch
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-07-21
Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in July
We have had the most relaxing holiday at Dens den in St Maws. The accommodation was excellent and the location was the same, we did not need to drive for the whole week ! We purchased a mussel card for buses trains and ferries and spent the whole week letting someone else ferry us around, literally ! We had our dog with us and felt really welcome everywhere we visited. Den's recommendations for places to eat were spot on with The Rising Sun The Victory and The Watch Tower all happy to allow the dog to be with us. The food and the service were all excellent at each of them. Den's Den feels like a home from home and we did not want to leave so soon.
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-07-21
Guest from Haverhill stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in July
We were very pleased with the location of the flat. All things we needed were within easy walking distance and when going out by car things were not far from our flat. The flat was nice and clean.The only things we didn't like was the birds in the box in the bedroom and also the white table which was too close to the bed.the curtain in the bedroom was not hooked up right because the fittings were broken. The shower was excellent and very clean. If we were to come to Saint Mawes again,we would look to book here again. Mike & Val Rogacs
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-06-30
Guest from Kirkby On Bain stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in June
All great, but couldn't find any instructions in flat on how things worked, had to ask neighbours and text owner. Very quirky interesting flat with beautiful views, could have sat all summer people watching and relaxing in the front window. St Mawes has everything you need at hand, didn't use the car all week. Owner very helpful.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-06-16
Guest from Oxford stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in June
?We very much enjoyed the convenient and spacious accommodation, which is in excellent condition and reflects the owner?s nautical and artistic tastes. It provided us the perfect base to relax and explore the surrounding countryside. The Wi-Fi is excellent and enabled me to stay in touch with work!?
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 3
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-06-09
Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in May
A lovely apartment with most of what you would expect when on a self catering holiday, the best thing is that everything is on your doorstep from pubs,restaurants ferries even a co-op. I would defiantly recommend this gem and will go back in the future
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-06-02
Guest from Somerset stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in May
We enjoyed all aspects of our recent holiday in Den'Den. The flat was well positioned and S Mawes was lovely. The accommodation was perfect for a holiday with everything we needed provided. Will certainly hope to return before too long. Barrie from Somerset
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-05-12
Guest from King's Lynn stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in April
The name "Dens Den" put me off but the website showed the property looking great & thats exactly what we got - a great property that was very spacious,clean & in a great location
4

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-04-17
Guest from Oxford stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in April
Well situated and carefully presented, the apartment offered everything we needed except for ease of access to space outside (we could not get onto the roof) and a kettle that switched off halfway to boiling. It was perfect for two - and probably fine for three. More might have felt crowded. The decor (especially the owners artwork) might have put some people off, being quite idiosyncratic; we enjoyed it and found it intriguing and personalised. We had a 20% discount for a late booking. Otherwise, we might have thought it a touch pricey. As it was, it felt like decent value for money.
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2013-11-09
Guest from Tuddenham stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in October
Awaiting us was the biggest storm in years so upon our arrival, we were very pleased to find a good location with excellent facilities. A home from home with (at least when we arrived!), a very nice bottle of wine, a vase of flowers and a personal note from Den. We enjoyed nice meals at The Rising Sun and the Victory Inn and tasty sausage rolls from the Bakers on the quay. The storm failed to even flicker a light bulb so nothing disrupted our very enjoyable and relaxing week. P.S. do heed the advice to follow the directions in the infopack rather than the Tom Tom/SatNav as you enter St Mawes. We didn't and had a very interesting tight turn or two!
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2013-10-08
Guest from stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in September
Ideally located, close to shops restaurants and pubs. Within 3 minutes walk to ferries. Lovely mix of sea views and people watching. Ideal for 3 people very well equipped and spacious.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2013-09-18
Guest from Hitchin stayed at Den's Den for 7 nights in September
This holiday property is real home from home, great location, great views of the harbour. Nothing to fault.We give it 10 out of 10. All mod cons but a homely feel, wonderful..
Powered by Up Front Reviews

Customer testimonials

We had a lovely break in this newly refurbed apartment. It's modern and comfortable, but not sterile, with lots of quirky, interesting touches, plus pretty views of the Percuil River. Very handy for everything that is going on in St Mawes and beyond. We really look forward to returning again soon!

Gavin & Morgan, Nov 2013

Den's Den is a modern self contained apartment located on the first floor (with ground floor access) of the popular Beach Hall development in a wonderful position overlooking the square in St Mawes with views over the bay to Place Manor and St Anthony's Head. There is a lovely big window in the sitting room to look out and enjoy the views over the bay or watch the boats coming & going into the harbour. There are also views from the double bedroom. Den's Den has been wonderfully presented by the local Owner who has recently acquired and refurbished the apartment. This property is perfect for either a couple or a small family seeking a great value base in St Mawes with sea views and easy access to the beach, pubs & shops.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE APARTMENT IS NOT IDEAL FOR TODDLERS.

St Mawes itself really is a wonderful place to spend a holiday. Staying at Den's Den, you would not need to get in your car all week. Walk round the harbour in the morning, enjoy a coffee and croissant in the summer sun while watching the ferries come and go! Catch the ferry to Place Manor and stroll along the stunning coastal footpath around St Anthony's Head or catch another ferry to Falmouth and visit the National Maritime Museum! There is an endless list of things to do and it is just great to stay in St Mawes!

Acccommodation
Ground Floor Only: Entrance hall leading into open plan kitchen with further door into the dining / lounge area. There is a good sized main bedroom with a 4'6" bed & ample cupboard space. There is a second bedroom with a 3' single bed with a pull out / pop up full sized single truckle bed followed by a family bathroom with over bath shower.
Exterior: Although Den's Den does not have its own garden, there is a shared roof terrace with magnificent views out to sea. Shared external furniture is provided on the roof terrace and further furniture is provided by the Owner.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage heaters throughout. All the windows are double-glazed. The kitchen is well-equipped with a range of cupboards, kettle, toaster, electric oven & hob, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine & fridge with freezer compartment. In the lounge area there is a TV with integral DVD player. There is an iron and ironing board available. WiFi is available in the apartment. There is a coin operated laundry room on site available for guests' use with a commercial sized washing machine and separate tumble dryer.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating & bed linen are provided, but you will need to provide your own towels. The Owner can provide towels at a small additional charge per person. There is 1 reserved free parking space in the main car park for you to use which is less than a minute away. Regrettably no smoking is permitted in the property. One well-behaved dog will be permitted at the additional charge of £25 per week although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended in the cottage alone. There is a cot and high chair available upon request.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is a Saturday.
Short breaks are available in the winter and at the last minute if the property is available.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.



St Mawes is one of the finest waterside villages in Cornwall. Situated overlooking an idyllic bay on the eastern side of the famous Falmouth Estuary, St Mawes has one of the mildest climates in Britain due to its proximity to the Gulf Stream. The sea is at the heart of the village and has helped to shape St Mawes from the little fishing village to the fashionable holiday destination that is so popular with visitors. A mecca for boating enthusiasts, St Mawes is a particularly popular sailing centre. Weekly club racing, village regattas and larger events are commonplace on the superb waters of the bay all through the summer.

St Mawes has so much to offer the visitor. St Mawes Castle was built by Henry VIII and is a splendid place to take in the views of the Carrick Roads. There are miles of coastal and countryside walks to take in and some idyllic beaches on which to relax and watch the world go by. The little Place Ferry takes visitors to explore St Anthony's Head or there are regular ferries to Falmouth. Being situated on the seafront, the village is also known for the restaurants and pubs that serve superb fish and shellfish dishes all year round.

There are a selection of pubs & hotels with restaurants (including the famous Hotel Tresanton) all within walking distance. There is a well-stocked local Co-operative store, Post Office, chemist and butchers all within a few minutes' walk of the property.
You might be interested in these nearby properties

The Watch House

Sleeps up to 6
Location: St Mawes
The Watch House is an immaculately presented 3 bedroom luxury apartment set in the heart of the picturesque village of St Mawes with views of the Harbour and bay from every room. The apartment has been designed and refurbished in a contemporary style and includes a stunning lounge and dining area with open plan fully fitted kitchen. The living space has 2 large windows with uninterrupted views and is a wonderful place to relax and let the world pass you by!

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceSaturday change over
Property code: 9187


More info Book now

The Workshop

Sleeps up to 5
Location: St Mawes
Tucked away on a quiet lane only a few steps from the harbour in St Mawes, this conversion is a delightfully presented family holiday home, with views out across the bay from the lounge. It is an ideal holiday cottage in the heart of St Mawes for either couples or a family with 3 bedrooms.

Dog FriendlyWiFiSea viewsNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSunday change over
Property code: 13925


More info Book now

Brackley Cottage

Sleeps up to 4
Location: St Mawes
Right on the harbour side in the centre of St Mawes, Brackley Cottage is ideally located for all of the attractions of this classic old Cornish fishing village. With its stunning views over the harbour and out over the fields of St Anthony’s headland from the master bedroom and quirky, almost triangular second bedroom and kitchen, what could be more perfect?

Dog FriendlyWiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distance
Property code: 44779


More info Book now

Seaspray

Sleeps up to 4
Location: St Mawes
Seaspray is a well-equipped, comfortable apartment located in the centre of St Mawes within a few steps of the pretty harbour comfortably sleeping two, but accommodating up to four with the use of the double sofa bed. The village beaches, a range of restaurants, pubs, cafes and shops are all close at hand. The little passenger ferry to Place and the slightly larger one to Falmouth leave from a couple of hundred yards from the front door.

Sea viewsBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distance
Property code: 48577


More info Book now

Little Egret

Sleeps up to 4
Location: St Mawes
A delightful & well equipped first floor apartment in the heart of St Mawes with its butchery, bakers, supermarket, chemist etc plus renowned hotels and restaurants and a castle built by King Henry VIII. The sitting / dining area is light and airy with a large picture window and the Master double bedroom has stunning views. Benefits include a stunning roof terrace and a dedicated parking space.

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceParking availableHighchair availableThursday change overShops within walking distancePub within walking distance
Property code: 52355


More info Book now

Upper Bohella House

Sleeps up to 7
Location: St Mawes
This absolutely fabulous 2 storey maisonette is in the perfect position right in the heart of St Mawes. Sea views from the sitting room and master bedroom, both with doors opening to the large balcony with seating and sun loungers. Light and airy, delightfully fitted out with sumptuous bathrooms and a modern, stylish, fully equipped kitchen. Just a few steps and you are on the harbour at St Mawes.

Priced for 2018WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceParking availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distance
Property code: 53461


More info Book now

Wiggy's Cottage

Sleeps up to 5
Location: St Mawes
A delightful former fisherman’s cottage, a stone throw from the picturesque harbour. This three bedroom cottage has been tastefully and freshly decorated. A comfortable place to stay close to the heart of the village and with its own parking place.

Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 4177


More info Book now

Rosslyn Cottage

Sleeps up to 5
Location: St Mawes
Completely refurbished and updated over the winter of 2016/7, Rosslyn is a charming period cottage with private gardens front and back, quietly located in the old centre of St Mawes up steps behind the Victory Inn and the quayside. Overlooking the village towards Summers Beach it is a comfortable modernised house, still full of old-world character and in an absolutely ideal central spot in St Mawes.

WiFiSea viewsBeach within walking distanceCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 4657


More info Book now

Cobblers Cottage

Sleeps up to 4
Location: St Mawes
A simply irresistible character cottage, literally a stone's throw from St Mawes Harbour, so perfectly positioned for exploring this wonderful village. It is only some 50 yards to the Quay from which ferries leave for Falmouth, Truro and Place. Well behaved small dogs are welcome and there is a secure patio area.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distanceGarden
Property code: 8415


More info Book now

Corner Cottage

Sleeps up to 5
Location: St Mawes
Corner Cottage is situated in a quiet location up a short, steep hill a few minutes from the harbour, just behind the centre of St Mawes next to a small Catholic Church (no bells!). The cottage enjoys pretty views over the roof tops to the Percuil River and the National Trust land behind and is a delightful & welcoming place to stay.
Dogs are welcome & there are TWO PARKING SPACES.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyWiFiSea viewsNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distanceFriday change overPub within walking distanceGarden
Property code: 11817


More info Book now