Enquiries: 01872 _264441 Contact us
translate this site
 

The Bolt Hole

Holiday Cottage in Tregony, Cornwall

Sleeps 2
Shops within walking distance
Pub within walking distance
WiFi
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Garden
Saturday change over
 
Overlooking sloping meadows with the River Fal running along the valley, this cottage has retained its 18th Century charm and benefits from a sunny enclosed garden and parking to the front of the cottage.
Back to search results Print page Make an enquiry
  1. Gallery
  2. Property details
  3. Map
  4. Street view
  5. Video tour
  6. Location
  7. Reviews
  8. Floor plans
  9. Nearby properties
  10. Prices & Book Now

Verified Up Front Reviews

5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-08-07
Sarah from Harrogate stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in July
We had a very enjoyable week at the Bolthole in July. The cottage is down a quiet lane with parking opposite and is very pretty. Inside, the decor is lovely and very homely. The cottage is very clean and is equipped with everything you might need. There is also complimentary tea and coffee. The only downside is if you are tall you might bang your head on the stairs and in the shower but the fact the cottage is so lovely more than makes up for it! The bed is extremely comfy too!
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-06-22
Nigel from Ferndown stayed at The Bolt Hole for 14 nights in June
Our second visit to this lovely cosy cottage in a great location. Once again we had everything we needed for a relaxing fortnight and as a base for visiting so many beautiful places.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 3
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-05-02
Heidi from St Albans stayed at The Bolt Hole for 8 nights in April
I stayed in this lovely little cottage April 2017 for one week.The cost of the accommodation was the first thing that initially attracted me.I was very reasonable at 265 pounds.I found the cottage very easily and was delighted when I walked in.I would almost describe it as 'cute'.Fully beamed in the living room and the bedroom.Clean and neat.All amenities in the kitchen with a downdtaires loo for convenience.As I walked out into the garden it had a lovely decorative wall with lights and atrative slate and a small stream.Very well thought out small garden.Upstairs is lovely with another toilet and bathroom, very clean and tidy. The only downfall about my stay was the fact that I had no phone reception so could not receive texts and calls at all.The WiFi is good and strong though with all TV channels provided.The village itself is about ten mins drive to Truro and I would suggest u have a car gir your take outs etc. The cleaning staff are lovely and the booking was handed in a very professional manner. I would visit this cottage again for its charms but I would of loved a good phone reception. Heidi
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2017-04-12
Judith from London stayed at The Bolt Hole for 6 nights in April
Excellent location as good access to coast and main road network. Very well equipped for such a small property. Really comfortable bed. Parking was easy. Only one negative point - A good reading light in the living room would have been good.
3.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 4
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 3
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2017-03-13
Mark from Faversham stayed at The Bolt Hole for 11 nights in February
Stayed out of season and got a great deal for 2 weeks whilst I was working in Truro. Would stay here again but feel two things should be made clearer though... It's a property for small people with small cars. 1: I'm 6'2" and am used to stooping to avoid banging my head on stairs in old cottages. Being unable to stand under a shower without banging my head was an unwelcome surprise. 2: A parking space is available but access to it is challenging unless you have a small car with good road clearance. Had the space been in use next door it would have been impossible to get access.
Reply from Carol BarryDear Mr. Caddy, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Upfront review. I am sorry that you had a problem with the headroom in the shower. However, the bathroom is described on the website as being small and having a shower over the bath. It is also clear from the photos that it is an old cottage with sloping ceilings and beams, although the ceilings are in fact a good height for such a cottage. The parking space can accommodate two small cars or one large one. We ourselves have a large 4x4 and we have never had a problem parking in it, even when the neighbour's car is in the adjoining driveway and access has never been denied. We do hope these issues didn't detract too much from your enjoyment of the cottage. Kind Regards Carol and Sean Barry
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-10-24
Lynn from Haverfordwest stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in October
Delighted with the cottage, and all the extras provided . Lovely teas , wine and all manner of cleaning stuff. All arrangements went without a hitch . We will definitely come again.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-08-15
Helen from Hillingdon stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in August
This was a lovely little cottage that I stayed in on my own for a week in August. The Bolt Hole contains everything you might need for a week self catering and there was a bottle of wine waiting for me when I arrived. Tregony village has a shop/post office, a very friendly pub, a hairdressers and an art gallery, all within easy walking distance. The only negative might be that the low ceilings may be a problem especially in the shower. I'm only 5ft 5 so fitted in just fine but taller people could struggle a little. Very comfortable and clean throughout with lots of nice touches provided. Thoroughly recommend.
4.5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-08-15
Phil from Nuneaton stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in July
As a base to explore the Roseland peninsula, and further afield, the Bolthole is ideal. The property itself is charming, and apart from the limbo routine to get down the stairs, very comfortable. All the facilities are in good order, and you couldn't really want for more....well maybe a decent cook's knife! All in all, an excellent holiday base.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-06-29
Nigel from Ferndown stayed at The Bolt Hole for 14 nights in May
A beautiful cosy and well equipped cottage in a lovely village. This central location made it possible to explore the Roseland Peninsula and well beyond. We would definitely recommend this place to others and would certainly go back on a future visit to Cornwall.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-06-27
Nigel from Cambridge stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June
In a lovely quiet little back lane overlooking fields and hills but with the conveniences of a small town, this is a delightfully decorated and cosy cottage.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-06-20
Michael from Leeds stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June
Lovely cottage clean and tidy. Central location for all attractions (Edan Project, Newquay, Padstow and Falmouth ) Good pub in walking distance, fish and chip van on Fridays.Nice touch with the bottle of wine
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-05-30
Richard from Bromsgrove stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in May
Perfect for two people. The village is ideal for visiting the Roseland Peninsula, and the regular bus service can free you from parking problems and fees. The local pub and the Londis supermarket are handy, and the pizza van (Wed.) and fish & chip van (Fri.) are useful too.
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 4
Condition 4
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-05-08
Tim from Southampton stayed at The Bolt Hole for 6 nights in April
Most enjoyable stay at a delightful property. Very clean and quiet and a joy to return here at the end of every day out. Impressed that, despite being a place for 2 there was plenty of crockery and cutlery - a frequent grumble in other places - such that we did not need to keep on running the dishwasher. One small things to look out for: - potential for mould around the bath with a lack of ventilation in that room. Otherwise really lovely and really do hope that we can return for an even longer stay to explore more of this fabulous area. Thanks, Tim Ford
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2016-03-13
Liz from Lancaster stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in March
This is the ideal property for two. Cosy and comfortable it has all that is needed for a pleasant stay. It is compact but provides ample space and facilities for two, including the - for me - essential bath as well as shower. It has been very well modernised making full use of the space and has great views as well as the courtyard at the back and lovely garden opposite at the front. Tregony is a lovely village and provides a great centre for visitors to the Roseland with Truro and St Austell within easy reach. There are many great places to visit within a short distance.
4.3

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 4
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2016-02-29
Hilary from Honiton stayed at The Bolt Hole for 5 nights in February
We really enjoyed our stay in this very comfortable, and well equipped cottage which was beautifully warm and cosy for a late winter break. It had everyting we required, was well located on the edge of the Roseland peninsula in an interesting village. It was great to have upstairs and downstairs lavatories and a dishwasher with enough crockery and cutlery not to have to waxh up after every meal. Our host made us very welcome and even the weather was kind: after weeks of rain we had crisp bright days, perfect for walking around the coast and exploring the local delights. We wouuld be very happy to stay here again, perhaps in the summer when we could make full use of the garden and tiny courtyard outside. It is well named, as it is a bolthole - home from home. One comment - this cottage would be quite challenging for particularly tall people due to the low ceiliings and some small spaces, but for us it was perfect.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-10-05
Paul from Stalybridge stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in September
The Bolt Hole and Tregony themselves are enough to send me straight back to Cornwall! The beautiful little cottage was immaculately clean and excellently appointed - warm and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. It was situated in the stunning location of Tregony, a wonderfully beautiful village conveniently placed between Truro and St. Autell and within an easy drive of all the exciting coastal locations of Cornwall. Although buried deep in the tranquil countryside, Tregony and the Bolt Hole are only a few minutes drive from the main A30 and the A390 so getting about was extremely easy. The booking process couldn't have been easier and the arrival instructions were excellent. Out thanks to the housekeeper, Angela, who came out immediately to help us when the gas ran out. I can't recommend the cottage and Cornwall Cottages Ltd highly enough - thank you for a wonderful stay. We'll definitely be back.
5

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2015-09-22
Stella from Halesowen stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in September
Great holiday exploring Roseland peninsula. Lovely accommodation. Great walks. Go to St Anthony Head you won't be disappointed. We had a wonderful time.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2015-06-22
Stephen from Aberystwyth stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June
Very clean and for a little old cottage it is comfortable and everything in very good condition. Welcoming and a pleasure to return to after a long day exploring Cornwall. Luxurious towels and bed linen, comfy bed.
4.8

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 5
Comfort 5
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 4
Review Date: 2014-08-18
Guest from Redhill stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in August
The Bolthole is a lovely little cottage great for a couple who wanted to explore the Roseland Peninsula. It is a central base making travelling easy. The cottage is clean, tidy, cosy and functional. Only gripe we had was that there weren't any egg cups for a traditional holiday boiled egg breakfast!!!!!
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 5
Condition 4
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-06-30
Guest from Lewes stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June
Nowhere to hang swimming gear outside and no pegs, make more use of rear yard for this. The garden shed lock is broken, i.e. the staple holding lock to shed has fallen out,, therefore shed not lockable, and the shaving mirror needs a new bulb., otherwise a wonderful week.
4.7

out of 5

Recommended
Cleanliness 5
Service and Staff 4
Comfort 4
Condition 5
Location 5
Value For Money 5
Review Date: 2014-05-19
Guest from Wells stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in May
Cottage was very clean, warm, comfortable and well appointed. A super location for exploring the SW Coastpath between Falmouth and Fowey. Pleasant nearby pub with excellent food and handy local shop. Good value and highly recommended. Only drawback was poor mobile phone cover - not just the cottage - the whole area! The bottle of wine on arrival was a very nice unexpected surprise.
Powered by Up Front Reviews

Customer testimonials

Aptly named this warm cosy and lovingly presented retreat had all we required for a comfortable short break. Even the weather has been kind with no rain on 3 of the 5 days, a record for 2016! We enjoyed the beauty and charm of the Roseland Peninsula both sea and land. Thank you for the warm welcome.
Mr & Mrs Russell , Mar 2016
Sweet cottage, very good condition, clean and bright. Enjoyed our stay immensely.
Mr Hook & Ms Kerridge, Oct 2015
What a beautiful cottage in a lovely unspoilt village. We’ve had a wonderful holiday. Thank you so much for the welcome presents as well – wonderful!
Mr & Mrs Nethercott , Sep 2015
What a lovely cottage, so clean and well equipped. We have had a wonderful holiday in this home from home. We hope to be able to come back one day. Thank you.
S & A Sloan, Hants, Aug 2015
Enjoyed our holiday - excellent location for exploring the area. Very clean well equipped cottage and thank you so much for the wine.
R & M Lacey, Derbyshire, Aug 2015
Enjoyed our short break in your comfortable cottage. Lovely location - easy to get to a part of Cornwall which is much quieter and less spoilt than some has become. Hope to come for a longer holiday next time. Thank you.
A & M Fisher, Devon, Jul 2015
Our second visit to The Bolt Hole. Tregony is such a perfect place for touring this beautiful area. We've had a lovely week once again. The good weather allowed us to do a lot of coastal walks around The Roseland Peninsular. Pub in Tregony serves good food and we didn't need to book! Thanks for the wine, we drank to our next visit!
Alan & Denise , Jul 2015
Have had a wonderful week in this lovely cottage. Ideal for exploring all the treats that Cornwall has to offer. Some of our highlights have been coastal walks, Geevor Tin Mine, Pendennis Castle Pitch and Putt. Will be sorry to leave - hope we may return to The Bolt Hole at some point soon.
Helen & Paul , Jul 2015
We loved the cottage and a super location. We enjoyed our staying here. Everything was great. Cornwall is super! Thank you for the bottle of wine!
Guests from The Netherlands , Jun 2015
We have just come indoors from enjoying a G&T in the sun in the garden and wanted to let you know that we love the cottage, everything works fine (wifi included) and we are so looking forward to spending our week here. Whatever the weather throws at us now, we know we will be comfortable and happy. What a gorgeous spot and what a lovely surprise the bottle of wine and card was.
C Dobson, May 2015
Clean, cosy, warm and comfortable 'bijou' cottage. Ideally located to visit spectacular scenery and stunning locations. When we next return The Bolt Hole will be on our list as a great location/accommodation.
Terry & Jackie, Nottingham, May 2015
Floor plans will appear here shortly.

Few places can compare with the Roseland Peninsula, one of the most picturesque and unspoilt parts of the British Isles. Here you will find a varied landscape of secluded coves, delightful creeks, wooded countryside, pretty fishing and rural villages, tranquil beaches, scenic cliffs and headlands. Situated in one of Cornwall's most beautiful locations, this tranquil self-catering cottage occupies an idyllic location in the friendly and picturesque village of Tregony, Cornwall. Within easy reach of the coast, Tregony is often described as the gateway to the Roseland Peninsula.

This lovely cottage is on a quiet terrace with a small lane serving just a few houses. The car parking and garden are just across the lane. A compact living room / diner leads to a fully fitted kitchen to the rear. Upstairs is a single bedroom with en suite compact bathroom and separate small WC.

Accommodation
Ground Floor: Open plan dining area and sitting room. Kitchen. WC.
First Floor: Master double bedroom with king sized double bed and small en-suite bathroom with over bath shower & separate WC.
Exterior: Sunny enclosed garden to the front of the cottage (across the lane) and a small enclosed rear yard to the cottage with external table & chairs.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via central heating throughout with an electric fire in the sitting room. The kitchen has a range of equipment. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge with freezer compartment dishwasher, washing machine & small tumble drier. The sitting room area has a digital TV & DVD player. There is an iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen & towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. Regrettably no smoking or dogs are allowed. Parking is available in front of the cottage for up to one vehicle. There is a cot & high chair. WiFi is available at the property.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Saturday.
Shortbreaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.



The village of Tregony in Cornwall is often referrred to as the 'gateway to the Roseland'. The exceptionally wide Fore Street is a relic from the days when this was a busy port and market town with considerable traffic. The port has long since silted up due in part to china clay workings up stream, but Tregony has retained its charm. Tregony has an unusual clock tower on Fore Street and the seventeenth century almshouses which boast an unusual wooden gallery. The site of a twelfth century Norman castle known as ‘Treg-ney’ from which the village got its name is situated on Tregony Hill.

The woods and riverside in the area between here and Ruan Lanihorne are fantastic to explore. The river is a firm favourite with ornithologists the magical Lamorran Woods are alive with bluebells in the spring. The Lost Gardens of Heligan, the Eden Project and the city of Truro are only a short drive away from Tregony.
You might be interested in these nearby properties

Frogmore Corner

Sleeps up to 3
Location: Tregony
A delightful, sunny cottage, full of character which has been completely refurbished by the new owner. Situated on the edge of the historic village of Tregony with lovely views over farm land and the Fal River valley below. The perfect base for visiting the stunning Roseland Peninsula or further afield.

Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedOpen fire / woodburnerShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceSaturday change over
Property code: 74386


More info Book now

Little Thatch

Sleeps up to 3
Location: Tregony
Recently renovated, this idyllic, traditional thatched cottage is set in the heart of Tregony, gateway to the Roseland Peninsula. Little Thatch is perfectly positioned as a base for your holiday to the Roseland and for visiting around Cornwall.

WiFiCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 76197


More info Book now

Trevenna Barn

Sleeps up to 4
Location: Ruan High Lanes
Trevenna Barn is a beautifully renovated barn conversion located in the heart of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula. There are two spacious bedrooms, a luxurious bathroom with slipper bath and separate shower and a stunning open plan kitchen / living area. Can be booked in conjunction with Trevenna Stables for a larger group of up to 8.

Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableFriday change overGarden
Property code: 487843


More info Book now

Trevenna Stables

Sleeps up to 4
Location: Ruan High Lanes
Trevenna Stables is a beautifully renovated barn conversion located in the heart of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula. A master bedroom with en suite shower room, zip and link twin bedroom, family bathroom and a stunning open plan kitchen / living area. Can be booked in conjunction with Trevenna Barn for a larger group of up to 8.

Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableFriday change overGarden
Property code: 487860


More info Book now

Robin Cottage

Sleeps up to 4
Location: Ruan Lanihorne
Robin Cottage, located in the heart of the stunning Roseland Peninsula and is nestled next to St Rumons church at the top of a tributary of the Fal estuary with stunning, uninterrupted, views down the tidal river valley. There are fewer places in the county that are so peaceful. Imagine a quiet evening glass of wine in the sun with some Al Fresco dining on the gorgeous terrace soaking up the last rays on a warm Cornish evening.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyWiFiSea viewsNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableFriday change overPub within walking distanceGardenFishing available
Property code: 489992


More info Book now

Laburnum Cottage

Sleeps up to 6
Location: Veryan
Located in the pretty, ancient village of Veryan, right in the heart of the Roseland, Laburnum Cottage has been beautifully restored to create an intimate, luxurious holiday home. Complete with under-floor heating, Sky multi-room, two log burners, slate floors, fantastically equipped modern kitchen and two cosy sitting rooms, this really is the perfect home from home.

WiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 51746


More info Book now

Lamorna Cottage

Sleeps up to 5
Location: Veryan
Located in the pretty, ancient village of Veryan, right in the heart of the Roseland, Lamorna Cottage is a superbly presented and surprisingly spacious, traditional cottage. With its character features, cosy fire and stunning kitchen, Lamorna Cottage will ensure that your Cornish holiday will surpass expectations.

WiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 489309


More info Book now

Jago Cottage

Sleeps up to 5
Location: Veryan
A comfortable, well designed place to stay near to Veryan & Portloe. Jago Cottage offers excellent value for money, sleeping up to 5 people. There is plenty of living space and a large garden to enjoy. The spectacular Carne Beach is only 5 minutes away. The coastline around nearby Portloe & Nare Head is spectacular and the walking is just superb.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedBeach within walking distanceParking availableCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 4237


More info Book now

Toadstools

Sleeps up to 6
Location: Treworga, near Veryan
A simply magical and picturesque three bedroom traditional cottage situated in a peaceful hamlet in the heart of Cornwall's Roseland Peninsula just a short drive from the coastal path and sandy beaches. An idyllic south facing private back garden awaits where you can totally escape, relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. One of our many luxury, dog friendly holiday cottages in Cornwall.

Priced for 2018Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableThursday change overGarden
Property code: 38452


More info Book now

Treverbyn Lodge

Sleeps up to 5
Location: Veryan
Treverbyn Lodge is a well presented 3 bedroom bungalow nestled in the heart of the tranquil village of Veryan, a short drive from the picture postcard, traditional fishing village of Portloe and the golden sands of Carne Beach. The Roseland offers stunning scenery, glorious coastal walks, fine dining experiences and local pubs that ooze rustic charm serving local beers and fine home cooked local produce.

Dog FriendlyWiFiNo. of pets allowedParking availableCot availableHighchair availableShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceGardenSaturday change over
Property code: 88734


More info Book now